Log in to National Academy of Sciences

Welcome to the National Academy of Sciences Awards Nomination System. Please enter your email address and password to log in. If you are a new user, please register.

   Forgot Password?

NAS Awards Process

1. Register

Click on the "Register" link and complete and submit the registration form.

2. Login

Login to the award with your email and password.

3. Create

Create your online nomination by answering all questions as completely as possible.

4. Save

Before the nomination deadline, your nomination can be saved as DRAFT until all the required information is completed and attachments uploaded. As each section is complete, a will appear in the category tab when the nomination is saved. Please ensure that all attachments are in MS-Word or Acrobat PDF format. You can download and print your nomination by clicking on the icon in the Nomination Summary section.

5. Submit

On completion, save your nomination as FINAL. Download and print a copy of your nomination for your records by clicking on the icon in the Nomination Summary section in the right column. Note: If an update is required prior to the nomination deadline, you can make the update and resave as FINAL.

If you require assistance or additional information, please contact

Nomination Requirements

Nomination requirements may vary by award. However, the following items must be submitted for all awards:

  • A letter from the nominator describing the candidate's work and why he or she should be selected for the award. No more than three (3) pages.
  • Curriculum vitae. No more than two (2) pages (similar to CVs included with NSF proposals).
  • Bibliography listing no more than twelve (12) of the nominee's most significant publications.
  • Suggested citation. A 50-word summary stating why the nominee should be considered for this award. Click HERE for citation examples.
  • Letters of support. Two (2) letters are required. Support letters must be written by individuals from institutions outside both the nominator and the nominee's institution.

Self-nominations are not accepted.

Joint nominations are discouraged and will only be considered when nominees have collaborated closely - usually in the same laboratory - on the work to be recognized by the award.

National Academy of Sciences
500 Fifth St NW - NAS 287
Washington DC 20001
Phone: (202) 334-1547